The Maine State Police within the Maine Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the state's largest police agency with an authorized complement of 341 sworn personnel, ranging from trooper to colonel. In addition, State Police employ 188 persons in non-sworn positions, the largest segment being emergency communication specialists who staff the department's four regional communications centers in Augusta, Gray, Orono and Houlton.

Note: Many state documents are offered in PDF format. To view PDF documents, you will need the free Adobe Reader. If you need assistance, view our Maine government PDF Help page or contact the contributing Maine State agency via the link on the left sidebar under “Links”.


Submissions from 2008


History of the Maine State Police, 1921-2008, Maine Department of Public Safety and Maine State Police